Master Multitasker

I’ve hit a new low trying to cram too many things in a 24 hour period. Today, I filed my baby’s nails on the “Daddy’s scratchy face” page of his Pat the Bunny book.

While I am not proud, I do think it’s pretty genius. Feel free to copy the idea in the privacy of your own home. Why should my son merely feel “Daddy’s scratchy face” when it can give him a much-needed manicure at the same time?

Multitasking is a prerequisite for Mommyhood. Most women I know–with or without kids–do the work of a team of people on any given day, and still manage to remember the small stuff–tickling their babies chins with their scarves for a laugh, placing a note of encouragement in their child’s lunch boxes, picking up an extra pair of pajama pants for their husbands because they notice they’re running low.

Tonight, I made the filling for my baked ziti while holding my son in the crook of my right arm, despite the fact that I am a righty. I somehow managed to add a blend of cheeses–including ricotta, mozzarella, parmesan, provolone, and fontina– Italian seasoning, garlic, and breadcrumbs and crack two eggs to mix in and bind it together–all with my left hand. I felt proud of myself in a sick, overtired way, standing in my kitchen balancing my 23-pound son on my right and an oversized serving spoon on my left with finesse. Truth be told, I felt like I should be wearing a superhero cape instead of an apron.

Are you a master multitasker?

Lefty Baked Ziti

  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Lefty Baked Ziti
 
Ingredients
1 box of ziti or rigatoni with lines
1 container of ricotta cheese
1 package of shredded Italian 6-cheese blend
1/3 cup of Parmesan cheese
 1 cup of Mozarella cheese
1 teaspoon of Italian seasoning
1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder (or to taste)
2 eggs
Palm full (2 T) of Italian breadcrumbs
1 extra-large jar of store-bought sauce (homemade is always better if you have it, but this is meant to be a quick week night meal)
 
Method:
Prepare ziti/rigatoni with lines using the package directions, but take it out when it is just al dente (usually one minute before the minimum cooking time). The pasta will continue to cook in the casserole dish; overcooked pasta is a no-no. Drain pasta, and put it back in the pot you boiled it in.
Meanwhile , mix ricotta cheese, parmesan cheese, 3/4 of a bag of the Italian 6-cheese blend, garlic powder, Italian seasoning, and eggs in a bowl.  Add in the breadcrumbs. Mix the cheeses with the pasta, and add in some sauce (until it’s a very light pink).
 
Coat the bottom of a casserole dish with a generous layer of sauce. Pour the ziti/rigatoni mixture over the first layer of sauce, and then top with another layer of sauce. Sprinkle the remaining 6-cheese Italian blend plus the mozzarella over the top. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes, or until brown and bubbly (hint: if you need a little help making the top brown and bubbly, pop it under the broiler for one minute). Enjoy.
About MommyDish

I still blast my music a little too loud for a wife and mother of two living in a sleepy suburb of Boston (old habits from the 80s die hard). I am a Mommy of one–my infant son, Alex, and Stepmom of one–my teenage stepdaughter, Ashley (her biological mom passed away when she was a toddler). Raising a baby and a teenager simultaneously always generates good MommyDish. I work by day as a public relations/marketing/communications guru, and by night as an amateur gourmet (I am a vegetarian in a meat eater’s world, but cook everything for my family). My life is complicated, chaotic, and downright comical–and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Kids, Life, Parents, recipes, Thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Master Multitasker

  1. Kim says:

    You truly are a mommy hero! Can you share your Baked Ziti recipe?

  2. JKMP says:

    Any means necessary to get things done! My kid just scratched her face and when they came into the office to pick me up to see Santa and his elves at Macy’s across the street I got the question from the snark mom in the office who knows what happened to babies’ face but just had to ask.

    I might have to use this trick to avoid further notice by the mommy snarks!

    • MommyDish says:

      Mommy snarks suck. We need to stick together. No matter how good of a Mommy you are, your baby is going to scratch his/her face during infancy. My little guy has sported quite a few scratches, even with his manicures during story time. Again, Mommy snarks suck.

Leave a Reply

