Holiday Card Envy

Why am I sending New Year’s cards to usher in 2011?

Here’s my spin: New Year’s cards are for trendsetters. 

Here’s my reality: New Year’s cards are mini miracles for procrastinating Mommys who book their kids’ photo sessions 11 days before Christmas, long after the Hanukkah ship has sailed.

I am currently suffering from severe holiday card envy. My mailbox is stuffed with a never-ending flurry of immaculately dressed children in coordinated outfits striking playful poses every day. They exude holiday cheer in color and in black and white; in the studio or on location.  And they’re all coming in time for loved ones to not only hang them on their refrigerators with pride but also make the mandatory call to the proud Mommy who sent them to gush about her kids’ cuteness.

I, on the other hand, was willing to bribe the photographer I called tonight to squeeze my kids in this weekend. Thankfully, I saved some Christmas cash because he has one half-hour spot open on Saturday. It’s a drive-by photo session for my drive-by New Year’s card–they will probably have to be taken off the refrigerators as soon as they’re put on at this rate.

Why can’t I seem to get it together this year?

If my trendsetter idea doesn’t catch on, I guess I have one New Year’s resolution already: to send our holiday cards in time for the holidays in 2011. Only time will tell if it’s one I can keep.

About MommyDish

I still blast my music a little too loud for a wife and mother of two living in a sleepy suburb of Boston (old habits from the 80s die hard). I am a Mommy of one–my infant son, Alex, and Stepmom of one–my teenage stepdaughter, Ashley (her biological mom passed away when she was a toddler). Raising a baby and a teenager simultaneously always generates good MommyDish. I work by day as a public relations/marketing/communications guru, and by night as an amateur gourmet (I am a vegetarian in a meat eater’s world, but cook everything for my family). My life is complicated, chaotic, and downright comical–and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Kids, Life, Parents, Thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday Card Envy

  1. Melissa says:

    Don’t feel badly! This first-time mommy has fallen into a similar catagory. I, too, have just hit the submit button on my shutterfly holiday card creation, in the hopes that the turn around will be before the 25th. Here’s to a happy new year card! 🙂

  2. Lauren says:

    I had the pictures taken in October. A little OCD if you ask me! Haha!

    • MommyDish says:

      I was definitely jealous of your card! You don’t know it, but it’s because of you I am sending New Year’s cards out on time this year (you pointed me towards Portrait Simple). Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

